Mycosphaerellales » Mycosphaerellaceae


Exutisphaerella Videira & Crous, in Videira et al., Stud. Mycol. 87: 351 (2017).

 Index Fungorum number: IF 822590; Facesoffungi number: FoF 08500, 1 morphological species (Species Fungorum 2022), 1 species with molecular data.

Associated with leaf spot. Sexual morph: Ascomata pseudothecial, globose to slightly elongated or elliptical, emerging through the epidermis, solitary or gregarious, ostiole apical. Asci club-shaped, stipitate, 8-spored. Ascospores hyaline, oblong, fusiform-elliptical, straight or slightly curved, 1-septate, not constricted at septa, with cells of equal size. Asexual morph: acervular-like. Conidiophores ampulliform, in compact bunches. Conidia hyaline, bacillar to allantoid, rounded at the tip, truncate at the base, straight to slightly curved, aseptate to multiseptate. Spermagonia in stromata, barely erumpent to completely exposed, globose to oval or pyriform, apical ostiole. Spermatia bacillar to pyriform (Adapted from Videira et al. 2017).


Type species: Exutisphaerella laricina (R. Hartig) Videira & Crous


Notes: Exutisphaerella laricina previously known as Mycosphaerella laricina was reported to infect the host Larix europaea (Pinaceae) in Germany. The asexual morph of Exutisphaerella is reported as a Cercoseptoria (fide Farr et al. 1989; Corlett 1991), presently treated as a synonym of Pseudocercospora or a Leptostroma (fide Tomilin 1979). The asexual morph of Exutisphaerella is characterised by acervular conidiomata, lined with ampulliform conidiophores with truncate apices, and forming hyaline and bacillar, 1–4-septate conidia (Patton 1983). Exutisphaerella is a distinct genus in Mycosphaerellaceae based on both morphology and phylogeny. Molecular markers available for Exutisphaerella are ITS, LSU, actin, RPB2 and TEF-1.


About Dothideomycetes

The website provides an up-to-date classification and account of all genera of the class Dothideomycetes.

Mushroom Research Foundation


Published by the Mushroom Research Foundation 
Copyright © The copyright belongs to the Mushroom Research Foundation. All Rights Reserved.